If you are sure that you want to delete your eBay account, it’s an easy enough process. Click on the Close My Account link, fill out the form and submit. Be aware that there may be caveats associated with account closure, in keeping with eBay’s terms and conditions.
You should read about permanently closing your eBay account before you attempt to do so, to be sure that it’s what you really want. If you don’t think you’re going to use your account frequently, you can just let it go dormant, and it will still be there if you ever decide to use it again in the future.
How to Closing your eBay account and deleting your data
If you close your eBay account, you’ll no longer be able to sell on the site or access My eBay. You’ll also lose your feedback as well as your purchase and sales history.
Before closing your account, consider contacting us first. We don’t want to see you go, and we’ll do everything we can to sort out any issues you may have.
If you still want to close/delete your eBay account, make sure:
- All your fees are paid and your account balance is zero
- You’ve resolved any suspensions or restrictions
- You don’t have open bids on an item
- You don’t have any outstanding payouts to be processed to your bank account or in pending status if you’re a managed payments seller
What you need to know about closing your eBay account Permanently
When you submit a request to close your account, we’ll send an email to your registered email address and to your eBay Messages within 24 hours letting you know we’ve received it. Generally, it takes 30 days to close an account from the date we receive a request.
However, if you’ve bought or sold items in the 30 days prior to submitting your request, we’ll keep your account open for 60 days from receiving your request so any outstanding sales or purchases can be completed and so we can meet our commitments to all buyers and sellers under the eBay Money Back Guarantee.
After the 30-day or 60-day period (depending on whether you’ve bought or sold in the past 30 days) your account will be permanently closed and your data will be deleted. If you change your mind during the time it takes to close your account, you can contact us and ask to have it reopened.
For security reasons, you can’t transfer or sell your eBay account to a new owner. However, you can add a secondary contact to your account.
How to Close / Delete eBay account and personal data deletion exceptions
We can’t close an account and/or delete associated data if:
- Your account has an outstanding balance
- You have pending transactions (i.e. open bids, pending payments, outstanding payouts to be processed to your bank account or pending status if you’re a managed payments seller)
- Data related to an account needs to be retained to detect, prevent, mitigate, or investigate fraudulent or illegal activities
- Data related to an account needs to be retained for a purpose required by applicable law
- There is a public health issue
- A subpoena or other court or legal order compelling eBay to retain certain data is in place
If data can’t be deleted for any reason, it will be retained in accordance with our Privacy Notice.
Please contact us for help closing the account of a deceased eBay member.
Closing your account will result in the closure of all eBay businesses associated with that account which rely on the same identity—for example, the eBay Partner Network (EPN).
Tip: Once you’ve submitted an account closure request, you won’t be able to access your account or use it to buy or sell on eBay.source: ebay